MAIN MENU Publisher, Founder To Receive Remy

Harvey J. Burstein Will Receive Jay Harris Arts Leadership Award


Harvey J. Burstein, publisher and founder of will be awarded the The Jay Harris Arts Leadership Award at this year's South Florida Theatre League Remy Awards.

Named in memory of one of South Florida’s most dedicated arts patrons, the Jay Harris Arts Leadership Award honors those who have made a substantial contribution to the theatrical community in the ways that Jay Harris did – through leadership, on-going volunteerism, and financial support.

Burstein said upon being notified of receiving the award that he shares the Remy with his team at "Fourteen years ago, came together as a way to provide original content about arts and entertainment in the form of professionally written reviews and previews, our Around Town galleries, and calendar. With a great creative and dedicated team assembled at, I'm proud that we are a vibrant publication that continues to support South Florida's arts community and arts lovers."

The Remy Awards, named in honor of Remberto Cabrera, the former Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs’ Senior Cultural Administrator and Chief of Cultural Development, are given to the unsung heroes who provide outstanding service behind the scenes of the South Florida Theatre League Community.

Michelle F. Solomon, editor of, said: "Not only does Harvey support the arts community through, but he has a personal passion for South Florida's performance and fine arts groups."

For 2019, the Awards will be presented as part of an evening fundraiser for the South Florida Theatre League at ArtServe, 1350 E. Sunrise Blvd., Fort Lauderdale at 7:30 p.m. on Monday, Aug. 26. The evening will begin with a reception, where industry members and audience members can mingle and enjoy light refreshments and partake in a silent auction. The evening will progress with integrated performances and awards presentations. The performers will be selected by winners of the awards, to further honor their contributions.

The Remy Awards have been a part of the South Florida Theatre League since its first year (1994) – with the Service Award dedicated to those who have provided outstanding service to the League and the Pioneer Award dedicated to those who have changed the landscape of South Florida Theatre. In 2014 the Board of the League made the decision to increase the number of categories to honor the breadth of those in our community whose contributions are often overlooked.

Harvey J. Burstein and editor Michelle F. Solomon.


Harvey J. Burstein and editor Michelle F. Solomon.

Other recipients of Remy Awards include:

Ed and Mimi Schultz, The Pioneer Award.

The Pioneer Award is bestowed upon individuals who have, over the years, taken the lead and contributed substantially to the health, growth and development of the South Florida theatre community.

R. Kent Chambers-Wilson, The Service Award

The Service Award is given to either individuals or organizations in recognition of their invaluable and outstanding contributions made through time, talent, service, and expertise by taking the initiative and actively participating and contributing to the growth and development of the South Florida Theatre League.

Outstanding Behind the Scenes Contribution, James Danford

Outstanding Contribution to Children’s Theatre – The Members of the Miami Children’s Museum Theater Troupe

Led by Bree-Anna Obst with Diana Garle, Robert Fritz, Peter Kisiluk, Travon Pierre, Seth Trucks, Krystal Millie Valdes

Tickets for the 2019 Remy Awards event are $10 and are available here:

For more information about the league.

For more information about the South Florida Theatre League and/or the Remy Awards, please contact Andie Arthur at or 954-557-0778

Also Happening in the Magic City

powered by